Skip to main content

How and where to vote in Martin

If you registered to vote on campus, then you are probably registered to vote in Weakley County’s 6th district. If that is the case, you should go to Trinity Presbyterian Church (on Jeffress Drive across from University Village) to cast your ballot in the 2006 elections. Polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Also, for the first time UTM students will be voting on an electronic voting machine. Weakley County districts will be using the iVotronic machine made by Election Systems & Software. A video demo of how to use the machine can be found on the company’s Web site:

On the ballot for students voting here are the following contested positions: Mayor of Martin (Brent Smoyer and Randy Brundige), U.S. Senate (Republican Bob Corker and Democrat Harold Ford Jr.), Governor (Democrat Phil Bredesen and Republican Jim Bryson), U.S. House District 8 (Democrat John Tanner and Republican John Farmer), State Senate District 27 (Republican Don McCleary and Democrat Lowe Finney), State House District 76 (Democrat Mark Maddox and Republican David Hawks), and Proposition No. 1, a same-sex marriage ban.