Skip to main content

UTM students to have voice in selecting next UT Student Trustee

Lauren Brannon, Jake Bynum, Jennifer Ogg and Beau Pemberton will be vying for the University of Tennessee Student Trustee position.

When a ballot is cast electronically in the SGA general elections, a separate space will be devoted to allow students to vote for three out of th e four candidates.

Currently serving as Student Trustee is Carol White a student at the University of Tennessee - Knoxville student in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources She was appointed to the UT Board of Trustees on July 11, 2003.

The 24-member Board governs the five-campus system and has one student representative. Governor Phil Bredesen made the appointment.

Each year, the Governor appoints a new Student Trustee, selecting from each campus on a rotating annual schedule.

The selection committee at the campus level nomination process was comprised of Dr. Daniel Pigg of the English Department, Dr. Timothy Burcham of the Agriculture and Sciences, and students Magan Darby, Nick Quinton, Kelvin Canaday and Adam Wilson.

The Governor will make his decision soon after the nominations are delivered.